41st Annual Academic Awards Honors 987 High School Students

Posted by: JustinFreeman on Wednesday, July 5, 2017
For 41 years, the Rogers-Lowell Area Chamber of Commerce Education Committee has honored outstanding Rogers High School students during their annual Academic Awards Ceremonies. The program is intended to improve the level of preparation for high school graduates entering college or the workforce. This year, 315 Rogers Heritage High School students, 517, Rogers High School students, and 155 Rogers New Technology High School students were presented with the prestigious Academic Awards for maintaining a 3.5 GPA or higher for one, two, or three years. With an objective of providing excellent preparation for students in the community, the Chamber is working to increase the number of students achieving this recognition every year. This year the Chamber presented 987 students with this Award, the most that have ever been presented. The Academic Awards were presented by Chick-Fil-A of Rogers; Gold Sponsors were KFSM TV 5/KXNW TV 34, and Lifetouch National School Studios Inc.; Silver Sponsor was iHeart Media; and Bronze Sponsors were the Buck Foundation, Kumon Math and Reading Center of Lowell, and The Roark Group. Rogers High Schools Rank in Top 10 There are 82 Arkansas schools honored in the 2017 U.S. News Best High Schools rankings, including one gold medal school, 25 silver medal schools and 56 bronze medal schools. To be eligible for a state ranking, a school must be awarded a national gold, silver or bronze medal. 1. Haas Hall Academy | FAYETTEVILLE 2. Arkansas Arts Academy High School | ROGERS 3. Parkview Magnet High School | LITTLE ROCK 4. Rogers High School | ROGERS 5. Bentonville High School | BENTONVILLE 6. Central High School | LITTLE ROCK 7. Prairie Grove High School | PRAIRIE GROVE 8. Fayetteville High School East | FAYETTEVILLE 9. Southside High School | FORT SMITH 10. Rogers Heritage High School | ROGERS Rogers New Technology High School also received a Bronze Award. Education Committee Honors 2016-2017 Educators of the Year The Rogers-Lowell Area Chamber of Commerce Education Committee has been honoring Rogers Public School Educators for their excellence in education for over 30 years. Educators are nominated from each school and three standout teachers are selected Educator of the Year. These are the three teachers selected for 2016-2017 Educator of the Year: Thomas Williams of Heritage High; Tina Wallace of Kirksey Middle School; and Kyle Scholler of Northside Elementary. Along with these three outstanding teachers the Education Committee selected one more teacher to receive a very special award, the Virginia Mocivnik Award. This award was created in Virginia’s honor to recognize an educator that demonstrates a dedication to the community above and beyond their work in the classroom. Virginia Mocivnik believed that education is one of the most important vehicles to effect positive societal change. As a business leader, she worked on many projects throughout the school system and community but most namely, she lobbied the school superintendent and parks and recreation director to start a girls’ athletic program. This year our Committee presented Jim Brown of Joe Mathias Elementary with the Virginia Mocivnik Award for his dedication to the classroom and the community. The 2016-17 Educator of the Year Awards were presented by Arkansas State Teachers Association; Platinum Sponsor Crain Automotive Team; and Bronze Sponsors were First Security Bank, and Raising Cane’s.


0 comments on "41st Annual Academic Awards Honors 987 High School Students"

Leave a Comment

Interested in becoming a member? 

Learn More

Back to top