Nine Rogers Public Schools Honored with Reward Funds

Posted by: rlaccmarcom on Monday, July 21, 2014

Nine Rogers Public Schools Honored with Reward Funds
through the Arkansas School Recognition and Reward Program

By Brad Phillips
Vice President, Marketing and Communications
Rogers-Lowell Area Chamber of Commerce

The Rogers-Lowell Area Chamber of Commerce in cooperation with Arkansas State Representative Dan Douglas and Arkansas Learns, the private sector alliance for excellence
in public education, recognized nine high performing schools in Rogers June 10.
For the 2013-2014 school year, a total of 206 public schools in Arkansas were recognized through the Arkansas School Recognition and Reward Program.  The program recognizes the top 20 percent of schools based on academic achievement, academic growth and graduation rates.  Schools in the top 20 percent received $45.35 per student this year; schools in the top 10 percent received $90.70 per student.

Honor Ceremonies Held June 10
A total of $406,388.40 was rewarded to the nine Rogers schools for outstanding performance.  The Chamber, Representative Dan Douglas and Arkansas Learns presented checks to Principals of the Reward Schools in honor ceremonies on June 10 (see photograph with caption).  Recipients of the Top 10% Reward Schools are Bellview Elementary, Eastside Elementary, Reagan Elementary, Tucker Elementary, Elmwood Middle School and Kirksey Middle School.  Also honored as Top 20% Reward Schools are Lowell Elementary, Northside Elementary and Benton County School of the Arts. "I am so proud of our schools and their high achievement being recognized, " said Dr. Janie Darr, Superintendent of the Rogers Public Schools.  "We're encouraged by the Arkansas School Recognition and Reward Program, and look forward to many of our schools being rewarded in the future."

Funds Helping Schools with Student Achievement
Schools receiving recognition and reward funds established a committee to determine the best use of the funds.  The committee included the principal, a teacher elected by the faculty, and a parent representative selected by the local Parent Teacher Association or other parental involvement group.  The schools may use the funds for faculty and staff bonuses, educational equipment and materials, or personnel to assist with improving or maintaining student performance.  "The funds are a great benefit to the schools.  The committees worked hard at assessing the needs of the schools and selected items that would really help with student achievement, like technology," said Dr. Darr.

Originally passed as part of the 2004's Act 35, school rewards had never been funded until
this year.  Act 1429 of 2013 revised the program, and Act 703 of 2013 appropriated funding.
A total of $7 million from the governor's allocation of the General Improvement Fund was designated for the program this school year.  Arkansas Learns championed annual funding in both the 89th General Assembly and the recent Fiscal Session.  The Legislature supported Beebe's recommendation to fund the program with $7 million from the General Revenue in school year 2014-15.  For more information about the program visit  


0 comments on "Nine Rogers Public Schools Honored with Reward Funds"

Leave a Comment

Interested in becoming a member? 

Learn More

Back to top