Chamber Honors 2019-2020 Educators of the Year

Published Tuesday, July 14, 2020

The Chamber has been honoring Rogers Public School Educators for their excellence in education for over 35 years. Educators are nominated from each school and three standout educators are selected as the Rogers School District Educator of the Year.

The three teachers selected for 2019-2020 Educator of the Year: Jordan Shannon, Lowell Elementary; Jennifer Kelley, Lingle Middle School; and Danny Burdess, Rogers New Technology High School.

Along with these outstanding teachers, the Chamber selected one more teacher to receive a very special award, the Virginia Mocivnik Award, created in Virginia’s honor to recognize an educator that demonstrates a dedication to the community above and beyond their work in the classroom. Virginia believed that education is one of the most important tools to effect positive societal change. As a business leaders, she worked on many projects throughout the school system and community but most namely, she lobbied the school superintendent and parks and recreation director to start a girls’ athletic program. This year our Chamber presented Katrina McClane of Northside Elementary, with the Virginia Mocivnik Award for her dedication to the classroom and the community.

We would never be able to honor these Educators without the support of our community and our member businesses. Sponsoring the Awards this year are our presenting sponsor Arkansas State Teachers Association, our gold sponsor The NWA Democrat-Gazette, and bronze sponsor Honeycomb Kitchen Shop.

Interested in becoming a member? 

Learn More

Back to top